Impatience: My Biggest Knitting Problem

Now that I’m in a place where I’m able to complete a lot of projects, I’m finding myself even more impatient than I used to be (when I finished very few projects). It seems to be a kind of destination anxiety-hard to enjoy the trip when you’re totally concerned with reaching the end point.

Don’t get me wrong, I love knitting and I do enjoy the journey, but this feeling intensifies once I get a project off the needles. Unfortunately this is where my problem comes in: yesterday I partially felted the brand new sweater (Flax by tincanknits) I just finished in my hurry to be able to wear it.

Currently it’s soaking in a tub of water with hair conditioner, since that is a possible solution I found online. Only the driest parts of the sweater felted because I let it dry overnight and then had the brilliant idea to put it in the dryer. This probably would have not been a problem if I had put it on the “delicates” setting but I was groggy and thought “air dry should be just fine, then it’s not applying heat”…except it applied a LOT of agitation. At least this was yarn I picked up for hardly any money at an estate sale a while back. I’ll report back with my results once I attempt to get the poor sweater back into better shape.

Leave a Reply

